IBOL SuperSauce

I have heard your cries, and I have an answer.

In support of IBOL Sundae, it is time I share the IBOL SuperSauce. When made to the below listed scientific standards, it can produce blindness. First developed by Hammurabi around 1703 BCE, it was considered his finest work and the pinnacle of his career until he got all crazy about the rules and stuff and started to write them down, too. Apparently, my dad and Hammurabi were buds and use to sit around and pass the time, eating ice cream with IBOL SuperSauce; that’s how it became a family favorite. [UPDATE: Super big thanks to CA Sister for the photos!]

Bittersweet Hot Fudge Sauce IBOL SuperSauce

Ingredients:
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1 cup sugar
¾ cup evaporated milk
½ teaspoon vanilla

1 ingredients

Directions:

1. In a double-boiler, with water simmering in the lower part, melt the unsweetened chocolate in the upper part.

2 melt chocolate

2. Stir in the sugar.

3 melted chocolate with sugar

3. Cover, and with water simmering in the lower part, leave on the stove for 30 minutes. Stir once or twice.
4. VERY SLOWLY add the evaporated milk and vanilla while stirring. (Hint: I put the vanilla in the milk can and pour from there.)

4 slowly add evaporated mild

5. Give a spoonful to the husband, you know, just to make sure it’s OK.

5 IBOL SuperSauce

6. Enjoy!

6 IBOL sundaes

Refrigerate or freeze leftovers. Reheat in microwave as needed. (e.g. put a large spoonful in a dish, microwave on high for 15 seconds.)

Doubling the recipe works well. Best eaten with ice cream, but come on — it’s so good, you’re going to try some just with a big ol’ spoon, like it’s Nutella or something.

And remember:

1. IBOL Sundae is…. Sunday.
2. Tuesday is the last day for getting boxes in the mail.
3. Make sure you’re using an address that includes “211th RSG” in it.

(This is the old IBOL 1 stuff — you can ignore it now)

Tags: , , ,

35 Responses to “IBOL SuperSauce”

  1. Carol Says:

    Nom, nom, nom….

  2. annelma Says:

    Hi, Ann here again, I keep pressing the wrong button and I think I keep erasing my message to you. So, carefully, one more time……..
    You and Bundles is fantastic. I have my bundle ready to send at this 11th hour. Please send me the address. I so want to be involved – saw your article in the Honolulu Advertiser!

    Warm Aloha and thank you! Ann Perlman

  3. Lynne Says:

    Thanks! I can already tell you that my son is going to consume vast quantities of this with ice cream.

  4. quiltdivajulie Says:

    What does this IBOL guy NOT do?!?!?!? He’s working to solve the insurgency in at least 3 provinces (with lots of help), he runs, he leads and serves, he writes, he rarely sleeps, AND he shares awesome recipes (chocolate, no less), too!

    Thanks for EVERYTHING you do!!

  5. kmkat Says:

    Hmmm. Have you tried offering this scrumptious-sounding chocolate delight to the local population? Cuz it seems to me that fabric, sewing notions, yarn, AND chocolate can pretty much solve all the problems in the world.

    Except maybe malaria. But that’s not such a problem in Iraq, right? ;-)

    (Sorry, I had two glasses of wine with dinner and am feeling a little… squirrelly.)

    • IBOL Guy Says:

      We’re looking at a plan to place bowls of this along the streets in known bad-guy areas. See if we can lure them out, and them talk to them. See what their grievances really are, see who in their government can address them. SuperSauce — the conversation piece.

  6. Sara Homeyer Says:

    Tell me it’s easy to “make” a double boiler with sauce pans of two different sizes….as long as I remember to put the water in the larger one and the chocolate in the smaller one. Didn’t I hear/read that somewhere?

    The rest I can get at the store..but what else would I ever use a double boiler for?

    • IBOL Guy Says:

      You might want to invest in the right equipment. Especially after you have this once. Because it’s probably the most addictive substance on earth. The Central American drug cartels are investing heavily in IBOL SuperSauce research right now. True statement — I think I read that on Wikipedia.

  7. Susan Says:

    Just how many miles do you have to run to work off the calories in the IBOL Super Sauce?

    • IBOL Guy Says:

      It’s actually inversely proportional to the size of the spoon. See, my spoon was too small, so I had to run 9 miles last night. (I had my ice cream right after midnight — what, you waited?)

      • Susan Says:

        Oh, I understand, a larger spoon would be heavier, so you would be burning off calories as you ate.

        Nope, I didn’t wait, I had some around midnight, too. But, alas! – my usual grocery store didn’t have unsweetened chocolate (!), so I had to settle for ice cream bars.

  8. Wanda Says:

    Please send me the address for mailing a bundle of yarn and knitting needles. Thank you for going above and beyond the call of duty to help people!

  9. laura in alameda Says:

    Oh yeah, baby. That is ( was) some choclate sauce. Most excellent to dip pretzels in.

  10. IBOL Guy's MOM Says:

    What other family secrets will be revealed? Just remember
    “Love conquers most things, for everything else there is chocolate.” When I was in San Rafael last weekend Fr. Tony said Mass. He remembered that plaque in the kitchen and worked that into his homily. Blew me away. It was great to see him again. I like the idea of using chocolate to quell the insurgency. Sounds like it just might work. Too bad we can’t mail chocolate. Fabric is next best. –MOM

  11. Melanie pentecost Says:

    Lost the address. Ready to mail a ton. Please send. Will mail Tuesday! Thanks! Melanie

  12. IBOL Guy's MOM Says:

    Is anybody guessing the number of bundles in the next shipment? We could offer my cheesecake recipe to the winner – if they can wait until I get back from this trip.

    • IBOL Guy Says:

      I do know that the mail folks called late on Saturday — “Ah, can you send a truck tonight?” Did didn’t happen then, it might happen later today (IBOL Sundae). We’ll see.

  13. IBOL Sundae « Iraqi Bundles of Love Says:

    [...] Iraqi Bundles of Love « IBOL SuperSauce [...]

  14. sygnett Says:

    I put pics up! Yum Yum!

  15. Lynne Says:

    They asked for a TRUCK? Woo Hoo!

  16. ...t. Says:

    lost the address!! HELP.

  17. IBOL Guy's MOM Says:

    Maybe you will double the number again – up over 700 received. I hope so. –MOM

  18. ErikaJean Says:

    http://www.erikajean.com/2009/09/sundae-sunday.html

  19. MsMauri Says:

    Gracious me…that chocolate stuff is LETHAL!!! over Vanilla Bean Ice Cream with fresh bananas…and you will be proud of me…after owning a double boiler for almost 15 years, I actually USED IT for the very first time!!

    I ate my IBOL Sundae watching Bull Riding on VS – they are finally playing the World Championships from Brazil…GO BULLS!!!!

    I keep checking back to see how many bundles they managed to fit into that mail truck! I still think we need a Chinook!

  20. IBOL Guy's Aunt Says:

    OK. You can’t stop here! When’s the next campaign? Wrapping around Thanksgiving/Christmas? Could get a couple of local knitting groups involved.

  21. اليكس Says:

    Thanks
    Let us know if you try it..and what you think of it!!!

  22. Where’s the reward in all this? « Iraqi Bundles of Love Says:

    [...] Here it is.  It’s a little something for you, and the one in your life who carries the heavy IBOL boxes to the mailroom and squashes bugs sometimes, and even for the kitteh — because really, if you’re eating it, it must be good, and if it’s good, it was actually put on this earth for the cat. [...]

  23. Lois Robinson Says:

    I’m just addressing my box and your e-mail arrived. The address you sent last week didn’t have “211th RSG” in it. What do I do? Help!!

    Thanks

  24. Mary Lynne Foster Says:

    The address I was given does not include “211th RSG”. Help! I have 17 bundles that I can put in the mail tomorrow.

  25. Lisa Quintana Says:

    Ok..I’m a devoted fudge errrr…supersauce eater and maker…I’ll share a little secret with you…if you’re out of bittersweet chocolate, use 3 tablespoons baker’s cocoa powder and one tablespoon butter to equal 1 ounce chocolate….so 3/4 of a cup of cocoa and 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter will provide you with more supersauce if you’ve consumed all the chocolate squares and are looking for more….

    Lisa Quintana…an enabler. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

