Tough week here in Baghdad

Sorry for being so quiet this week.  Been a tough, tough week.

I had high hopes for the weeks, actually.  Sunday was a nice pre-4th BBQ, complete with a pig roast (we can talk about the appropriateness of a pig roast in Iraq later, ok?).  The 4th was a nice day — I covered down on the office with a few others while my boss and a lot of the Joes headed out for some festivities with our Iraqi counterparts (and no, there wasn’t a second pig roast).

And then the week just got rough, with the low point for me being an attack that took the lives of two Soldiers from 116 Cav.

Like I said — tough week.

It’s Sunday, and that means Skype with the family, and some extra sleep (every little bit counts) and other important things – like dropping off dirty laundry.

Though silent here, I’ve had some great conversations this week with some of you — Super Secret Projects 5 and 6, and the bundles in Afghanistan.  It’s good to hear that people are having fun rounding up bling.  Who knew huh?

So, thanks.  And here’s to a better week.

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Tough week here in Baghdad”

  1. Nanci Says:

    So sorry to hear about the death of these brave young men. It’s so sad to see the best of the best being lost in this way. Here’s to a better week for you and prayers to the families as they grieve the loss of the their loved ones.

  2. stephanie Says:

    I hope next week is a better one for all of you!

    Today is our 35th wedding anniversary! We did a bike ride yesterday to celebrate- and then helped our son and his fiance work on their wedding invitations. Consider yourself invited! So if you’ll be in Washington state on September 16th, let me know so I can give you the details! :D

    Stay safe, Stephanie

  3. Rebecca Smith Says:

    I am new . My friends and I want to send Bundles to you. Please sent me the address. We have gotten the boxes from the post office already. We are very excited to help.
    Sorry we have had a tough week! I hope the coming week will be much better. Hope to hear from you soon.
    Becky

    • Pam Calderwood Says:

      I need an address to send a bundle to. Please advise ASAP and I’ll get 3 out!! Thanks!!

  4. Chris Says:

    I’m so sorry about your loss. I want you to know I sent two boxes out last week and school supplies went on sale this week and I have been stocking up so I can send them out. I can only send a few out each week because of the cost of postage but hang in there and you’ll be getting more from me. My prayers and thoughts are with you always.
    My daughters fiance just left in June for his fourth tour, (first in afa.)serverd three in Iraq.Please keep up your spirits.
    Chris Fuqua

  5. Ellen T Says:

    Art,

    Thoughts and prayers, as well as SSP5 and SSP6, all going out to you.

  6. Mary ann Says:

    Thoughts and prayers going out to you all Art. And a late SSP5 and regular bundle. I’m thinking they will find a home somewhere in Afghanistan with the help of your team. And I’m gathering up school supplies for 6. I’m send you a email with a photo of the bling…thats fun!

  7. Nancy Alderman Says:

    I am so bummed that you had such a bad week – but not as bad as those poor guys who aren’t coming home. I know that must be something that is really affecting you. Thank the electronic demons for Skype, because I’ll bet that family time is what holds it all together for you. Know that there are a lot of us out here thinking of you and hoping that you and all of the troops in Iraq (and AF) get home safe, sound and soon.

  8. Jo-Anne Says:

    Thinking of you all. Keep the faith.

  9. Becki Says:

    Art,
    If you could send me the adress I have a box all ready to go. I had the address earlier but due to a computer crash and various other problems, I have lost it. My son just returned from Afghanistan about 6 weeks ago. We are very happy to have him back “home”. My thought and prayers are with you. I hope you have a better week.

  10. Sarah Stephenson Says:

    So sorry to hear of the casualties – that definitely is not how a week should end – or start for that matter…….we are working on a little project here at work I think you will like…more on that later…hugs to you and your soldiers…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 198 other followers

