One story, one update

Mail arrived on Tuesday, third time in 4 days. One of the NCO’s comes in and announces, “Hey, mail’s here. We’ve got a lot of it” and looking at me, “and sir, you got a lot of mail.

“Did I get 50 boxes?”

“What? No! Why would you get 50 boxes in the mail?”

“I have this little side project thing going. How many boxes arrived for me today?”

“A lot. Like, maybe a dozen.” (13 actually)

“Tell me when I get 50 boxes in a day. That’d be a lot of mail.”

He turns to another guy. “You hear this? He thinks he’s going to get 50 boxes in a day. Remember before Christmas, when Smitty was getting all that mail?”

So I ask, because I remember when that happened. It even made the press. “How many boxes did Smitty get in the mail?”

“I don’t, but it was a lot.”

“Like how many?”

“Oh, it was tons. Like, maybe 100.”

I snickered.

“What?” he asks. “How many boxes do you think you’ll get?”

“Five hundred.” It was the first time I had used that number with my outside voice. And I gotta admit, it produced a holy crap look on just about everyone’s face.

And I kid you not — the thought that was running through my head right then about the 100-box guy was, He probably does know any knitters.

The update from today is both that 13 bundles arrived (including some from Europe!), but also that we made some progress on the larger, overall project. One of the core units at my base that also just arrived, enthusiastically agreed to get involved. Which means that after me and my unit leave, the mechanisms may well be in place for this overall, larger project to continue on. Enduring. Which I love, especially as we move closer to the end of 2011 and the withdrawal of US forces. I am hoping our work now pays dividends for the rest of the time.

Tags: , , , , ,

17 Responses to “One story, one update”

  1. Kristin L Says:

    Game on!

  2. Sherrill Says:

    With 11,000 hits and weeks from Sept 7, I predict your count will be many times 500.

  3. IBOL Guy Says:

    Oh, wouldn’t that be something, huh? What a crazy idea this was. And what an insane amount of generous people have come out of the woodwork on this one, to contribute!

  4. Lynne Says:

    Hello IBOL guy! I’m a quilter and I want to send an IBOL. I haven’t got any solids, but I do have some yardage of fairly generic quilty stuff. And I’ve got pins and thread. Send me the mailing address and I’ll get an APO flat rate box out to one of the collection centers.

    thanks

    Lynne (Millie is the cat)

  5. Dee Says:

    I’ve been de-stashing like crazy….will go to PO this a.m. to get box. Now I just need address…..so glad the project will continue!

  6. Elizabeth Messer Says:

    I did this once before with another guy. I’ve been wanting to do it again but he was not there anymore. It was just great to see this is happening. Please send me your address and I’ll get a box out ASAP. Thanks for all you are doing andplease see that it keeps going.

  7. Beth Says:

    My 3 kids are filling up 2 boxes right now. All I need to know is were to send them. They are so happy to be able to help. Good thing their mommy spends a lot of time sewing and has a lot of extra goodies.

  8. quiltdivajulie Says:

    I spent my lunch hour at the post office today ~ my three boxes are on their way!

    Tip for others – anything over 4 pounds requires the 2976-A customs form – easier to fill it out in person than online (online requires fields be filled, in person you can leave them blank).

    THANK YOU for what you are doing!!!

  9. Cyndi Chabot Says:

    please send me your apo address. I can send a box or two. Great project. Common threads build friendships – even through language barriers.

  10. Judy Says:

    What a magnifacnet, generous idea. Count me in and send me the address.

  11. Angela Says:

    Hey Art,

    I am putting 5 boxes in the mail tomorrow, they are all packed and addressed and ready to go.

  12. IBOL Guy Says:

    5? 5? You’re putting FIVE boxes in the mail.

    Angela, you are my hero of the day.

    (Five boxes. Egads. I need to find a bigger storage area, I think)

  13. LaceLady Says:

    5 (five) boxes in the mail – joyful, fun, thanks for the opportunity

  14. Solsisters Says:

    Art.. mom my sent SIX yesterday and I sent another one myself.

    I told you, clear the humvees – you’re gonna need the storage!

    SURGE THE FABRIC!!!!!

  15. IBOL Guy Says:

    I’m going to have to subcontract for, say, an island where I can store all this.

  16. Kate Says:

    I know my stash can use some thinning..so send on the addy and I’ll have the bundle(s) on their way!

  17. IBOL Guy Says:

    You know, all this time later, I look back at this and still snicker. 500. Shoot — what was I thinking?

Leave a Reply

