IBOL Sundae

By the power invested in me, by the teeming masses of IBOL Supporters, I do hereby make the following degree:

1. This Sunday shall henceforth be known as IBOL Sundae;

2. This Sunday, IBOL Sundae, shall be celebrated with elaborate ice cream treats, preferably in a bowl and garnished with outrageous toppings before eaten with a spoon that is much too big;

3. Supporters of IBOL Supporters, to include but not limited to husbands, wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, significant others, kids, and kittehs, shall be honored for their support of the IBOL Supporters by also be gifted with elaborate frozen dairy product concoctions;

4. And in keeping with the finest quilting and knitting weekends, photos of these whimsical yet scrumptious creations shall be taken before and during consumption, and shared liberally across these interwebs things.

Celebrate in the greatness that comes with being an IBOL Supporter, and in the glory of the wonder of the weekend. You have certainly earned it, and for someone of you, you may need the extra energy because it sounds like you have a lot of boxes to mail on Tuesday.

Me, I’ll be packing it in, getting ready to manhandle the 14,000 boxes that are apparently headed this way. What’s the old saying? Oh, yeah — “Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow you may work at IBOL World Headquarters.”

And remember — stuff in the mail on the 8th is A-OK!

Tags: , , , ,

39 Responses to “IBOL Sundae”

  1. Andraya Dolbee Says:

    I’m in — I have such a stash!! Just learned about you on Mason Dixon — please send me your address right away — I’ll ship loads of bundles this weekend.

    By the way, I’m new to Baltimore, we just moved here after 15 years in New York. Now we’ve become what we always rolled our eyes over — displaced New Yorkers wining about bagel and pizza quality…..

    Thanks for the good you are doing!

  2. Frances Codd Slusarz Says:

    Please send me the address. I’ve got some time to put a bundle or two together this weekend.

    Thanks.

    Fran

  3. Nanci Moy Says:

    I’m in, any excuse to eat ice cream. This has been a huge success and you should be so proud of all the work you’ve put in. I have one more box in the works and hopefully it will make the Tuesday cut-off. Be Safe over there.

  4. Bridget Gordan Says:

    Please send me the address. This is a great idea!

  5. Angela Says:

    Hi Art, I need the warehouse address to send a few more bundles.

  6. Kathleen Says:

    I need the warehouse address, too… a couple more boxes to mail !!!!

    thanks so much for giving us all the opportunity to be a part of this, and for writing such wonderful posts to make us all feel a part of it as it rolls out…

    Kathleen

  7. Lynne Says:

    My son needs absolutely NO prodding to eat vast quantities of ice cream such as you describe. And he ALWAYS uses a big spoon.

    Here’s hoping IBOL receives 5,000 boxes! My three should have arrived in the last batch.

    More than three provinces, LOTS of help.

    thanks for everything.

  8. amberjsquirrel Says:

    I would like to send a box. Please send me the address. I am so glad I found your site last night. Thank you for giving an ordinary citizen a way to help.

  9. Lisa Says:

    I wish there was someway to help sort out those boxes at IBOL HQ!

    Will definately be partaking in IBOL Sundae!

    Thank you for all your hard work with this project. It gives me great joy to know I sent two boxes of stuff I won’t use to someone who will.

  10. Naomi Deal Says:

    I am more than interested in sending an IBOL. Please send me the address. I have lots of sewing items that I got from my Mom when she passed away and I would LOVE to send them to someone who can really use them. I can sew but it’s hard to find the time.

    Thank you, and God Bless You and Yours.
    Naomi Deal
    Hampton, GA

  11. Lauren hawley Says:

    Hi there. I left a comment Monday and haven’t heard from you. I know you’ve been swamped. Bundle all ready too go when I get the address. Thank you!

  12. mary milam Says:

    is there an address I can physically deliver a great deal of fabric to? this is a wonderful idea and I commend you for building ties and seams this way.

  13. IBOL Guy's CA sister Says:

    I’m going to take advantage of the Labor Day sale at a local fabric shop to support IBOL. I’ll get my final boxes in the mail on Tuesday. And, thanks for the excuse to celebrate IBOL on Sunday with sundaes. I’ve been thinking about making a batch of Mom’s bittersweet hot fudge sauce; I guess I’ll do it this wekeend. I’ll have a sundae for you. Keep up the amazing work!

  14. Celia Says:

    This is such a wonderful project! I can’t believe I’m only just hearing about it. I’d love to participate.

  15. sygnett Says:

    SPC Helgren and I will follow your direct orders to eat ice cream everyday this weekend. In order to go above and beyond what is requested of us- we will sandwich the oreo ice cream they serve at the chow hall between 2 overly large cookies. We might even add some whipped cream.
    So- off to chow!

  16. MARIGOLD Says:

    Please send address. Thanks!

  17. Gwen Says:

    Hi! Just wanted to let you know that I’m about to take my bundle to the P.O. AND I have a post on your project (with pictures of my bundle) scheduled to be published on my blog (http://afterthedress.blogspot.com) first thing tomorrow (Saturday) morning. I love seeing the pictures of all the boxes you’ve been receiving! What an incredible project! You rock! Consider yourself an honorary member of the Seamstress Sisterhood! 🙂

  18. HokieMom Says:

    Send me the address. Heaven knows I have more than two of everything….

  19. Norine Says:

    Read about your project in the Honolulu Advertiser. What a great idea! Please send me the address so that I can send my box to you.

  20. Leah Says:

    Hi,

    My daughter and I would like to assemble a bundle this weekend. Could you please send us the address to mail it to? Thanks so much and what a wonderful idea you had :o)

  21. Sarah Says:

    Make it 14.001 if you let me know where to send the box. Thank you so much and this is a wonderful thing you are doing.

  22. Kristin L Says:

    Must the ice cream be eaten after sundown in accordance with Ramadan, or may we partake any time in accordance with Jimmy Buffet (it’s 5 o’ clock somewhere)?

    • IBOL Guy's CA sister Says:

      I’m driving friends to the airport Sunday evening, so I’m going with the Jimmy Buffet approach and having an IBOL sundae party Saturday evening — Saturday evening in CA is Sunday in Iraq.

  23. Joanna K Says:

    Thank you for what you’re doing, just read about it this morning in the Honolulu Advertiser. I would love your address so I can get a box in the mail before Tuesday. Good luck handling all the boxes that will be coming your way shortly, I hope you have lots of help on your end! Have a blessed day!

  24. IBOL Guy Says:

    Oh, no — go with Buffet. Trust me on this one. In fact, do both.

  25. I am sooooooo busted « Iraqi Bundles of Love Says:

    […] Iraqi Bundles of Love « IBOL Sundae […]

  26. SuzAnn Says:

    I scream
    You scream
    We all scream for ice cream
    and IBOL Guy!!!

  27. irene Says:

    hey there IBOL guy. i would love to contribute to such a great cause.
    thank you for all you do!

  28. Monique Says:

    Three boxes in the mail today, and a great lesson for the kids about “what’s safe to send via USPS”, “customs forms”, and “passport applications”! Always looking for those “teachable moments” 🙂

    Seriously, we’ll be BBQing on Sunday, and will definitely add “IBOL Sundaes” to the menu, and thinking of you and all of our dedicated military personnel serving overseas.

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, IBOL Guy, for finding a way for ALL of us to help!

    Smootches,

    Mo and Family 🙂

    P.S. Yes, you ARE sooooooo busted! But in a really good way. Wish I could hear you explaining all this to your CO 🙂

  29. shkane Says:

    I hope this is how I can get your mailing address. I have lots of scraps, remnants & trims which I would love to be put to good use.

  30. Vera Tom Says:

    Please send me your address so I can start packing and get it in the mail
    by Tuesday. Today, Saturday, is a little too late. Sorry, a friend just
    called me today and notified me of your IBOL. Thank you for your
    compassion and kindness in providing the people with their needs.

    Aloha

  31. Lysa Schloesser Says:

    Hi Art! I’ve contributed to IBOL today with 8 BOXES O’ LOVE coming your way!! I even slid in a slightly used pair of Van’s, size 12, “KISS Edition” in one of the boxes. I had fun packing things up and imagining their use on the other side of the world. I had a slightly odd conversation with the postal worker that took the boxes. When I told her what I was doing and why I was happy to contribute something directly to the women and children of Iraq, she said “well, sometimes it’s the women and children placing the IEDs” I said that maybe one of the IBOLs will make a difference. Happy Sundae! All best, Lysa

  32. IBOL SuperSauce « Iraqi Bundles of Love Says:

    […] support of IBOL Sundae, it is time I share the IBOL SuperSauce. When made to the below listed scientific standards, it can […]

  33. IBOL Sundae! « Erin in Iraq Says:

    […] to eat an Ice Cream Sundae on Sunday.  We took him to heart!  We actually made it more of an IBOL Sundae Weekend! Swan's […]

  34. jennifer Says:

    drats! i read about IBOL sundae too late… but my hubby and i did partake of ice cream for breakfast yesterday morning. we’re celebrating his birthday all weekend long.

  35. Quilted Jonquil » Blog Archive » IBOL Sundae & Design Wall Monday Says:

    […] so today is Tuesday, not Sundae or Monday, but what the heck!  Here’s my IBOL Sundae that I did actually eat on […]

  36. Mindy Says:

    I just found this posting. (My vacation started Sep 8.) It seems I caught the spirit anyway (more than a month late) because, last night, I made myself a sundae: vanilla ice cream, slivered almonds and Grande Marnier! If I do it again tonight, maybe I’ll post a photo on the Flickr group!

Leave a Reply

