Our favorite places

Some of you have heard me talk about how I seemingly spent my entire youth, playing under the bins at Joann’s Fabrics while my mom shopping for just the right fabric.  I don’t think I’m going out on a limb to far when I say that I think a lot of people who sew, knit and quilt have favorite places for buying their supplies.   (Insert joke about drug users and their favorite drug dealer).

But one thing of which I was reminded while at the International Quilt festival in Houston is that there are some truly awesome vendors out there.  Super awesome people, just as nice as can be, who also happen to make their living selling the things that keep the sewing, knitting and quilting communities humming along.

For some, it’s the place in town.  That certainly was the case when I was growing up.  But today, that can also include online vendors, like my own super-mega-bestest-friends at Sew, Mama, Sew! I suspect that sometimes it’s the people, but sometimes it’s the products or the prices or something else.  But I’d be willing to bet that, more often than not, it’s the people that separate a mere store or business from the places you’d return to again and again.

So, I was thinking.  IBOL3D — let’s invite them in as well.  IBOL I and II had truly awesome support from Sew, Mama, Sew!, but I bet the crew at Love of Quilting in Winterset, Iowa, and the crew at The Quilter’s Garden in Fenton, MI would probably think IBOL is pretty cool and be interested, in some way, in helping out.  It might not be hundreds of bundles that they sell online, but even some local support and activities would be very in line with what IBOL is all about.

With that in mind, I wrote up a page for our friends and heroes who sell all of the great things that you all love to buy.  The page is here.  I hope it’s complete enough that you can pass it to someone, and it’ll give them ideas and spark their interest.  If you’re willing to bring up IBOL when you’re shopping for goodies, the least I can do is empower you when you say, “Let me email you a link.”  So, this is me, helping you to spread the word, and this is us, thinking big.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Our favorite places”

  1. IBOL Guy Says:

    Did I really just call out Iowa and Michigan? Yep — sure did.

  2. Kristin L Says:

    Pink Chalk Fabrics online is another bundle supporting business!

Leave a Reply

