The dangers of Iraq

If you think life in Iraq is easy, I can tell you it isn’t.

And if you think life will be just perfect on the US Forces leave, well, it won’t.

CNN and other news agencies are reporting on two suicide car bombs that are said to have detonated at the International Zone in Baghdad, what was once called the Green Zone.  The reporting seems to all indicate that the bombers set off their devices outside of the IZ itself.

So what? Well, the IZ isn’t controlled by the US Forces.  It’s controlled by the Iraqis.  And outside the IZ?  That’s just called Baghdad.  That’s where the Iraqis live and work and carry on with their lives.

These weren’t car bombs that killed mass amounts of Americans, or sent a message to the US population.  They were an attack that wounded and killed Iraqis, that reinforced the fact that even after the American Forces depart, there will still be strife and conflict in this land, likely for a very long time.

Should US Forces stay?  Would that make a difference?  That’s not for me to decide — hell, that’s not even for me to think about.  That’s an issue for the Iraqis and their elected leaders.  In a sovereign nation, these are the things that weigh on the minds of the people and the shoulders of their leaders.

But know this – it was a tough day to be an Iraqi.  Night has fallen, the moon is out, and it’s quiet near where I am.  I know that out here in the city, families mourn while others care for their wounded loved ones.  That won’t change in 2012, when I am home with my family.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “The dangers of Iraq”

  1. Gwen Says:

    I’m sorry. 😦

    This world comes with enough sorrow and pain – we lose the ones we love to sickness and natural disasters. We shouldn’t have to lose people to hatred too.

    I don’t understand why some people’s lives seem to be fueled by hate. Sometimes it seems like it comes more naturally to human beings to hate entire groups of strangers than to love them.

    Or maybe it’s just that this is what the media plays up? Car bombs make a better story than the Mother Theresas of the world? It would be nice to think that the love and the hate out there equal out, and it’s just the media that makes it seem different…

  2. IBOL Guy Says:

    Well, here’s the thing. The car bombs, according to the press, were suicide attacks. Ask yourself this — is there something in your life so important that you’d be willing to give your life for it? Because here in Iraq, and elsewhere around the world these days, there are people who answer yes. And their answers aren’t things like Nintendo DSXL or really good pizza, it’s about culture and religion and the things they hold dear in life. Our Western media plays to the things that draw viewers — and that means things iike car bombs (especially ones near where they can have reporters, like the IZ).

  3. Bobbie Says:

    Thank you seems so little to say. Remember we do care and many prayers are sent every day for your safe return.

  4. Gwen Says:

    I’d give my life to save my family. In a heartbeat.

    I guess I can’t really put myself in their (suicide bombers) shoes because I’ve grown up in American where I’ve always had the freedom to practice (or not) my choice of religions, speak out against (or for) the government, etc. I’m not sure I can imagine what it would be like to live my whole life being afraid and having to hide who I am and the things that I believe in…

Leave a Reply

